In Which the Jensen Luck Runs Out…Or Does It?

Hi, Class!

I finally finished grading all of your Blog Posts#1 and Writing Circle #1 sitting in a hotel window in Carmel-by-the-Sea, a cutesy little town in Central California. We are here to see the Monterey Aquarium.

But you remember how the White Rabbit in either Alice in Wonderland or the Matrix has other plans for the heroine? Well, there are lots of White Rabbit logos in Carmel, and I think the spirit of that famous magical rabbit was at work in our lives yesterday!

whiterabbit
What I like about this White Rabbit clock that I saw yesterday is the way time runs backward. That’s what yesterday felt like to me, too!

I made a fun little video about it this morning just to show you what’s happening with me right now:

PS A couple things to notice about this blog post:

  • I just added bullet points for visual interest
  • I hotlinked (also called “hyperlink) all my outside references
  • My image has a caption that relates to my text. I took the photo, so I don’t need an attribution

Safe travels wherever you are!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

16 comments

  1. Hi!
    I’ve forgotten exactly who lilmisspirate is (do you live in the Whit? The pirate is our neighborhood symbol), but thanks for stopping by! Definitely the Aquarium and Big Sur! We also went whale watching. Lots of expensive food, too!
    Today, we will go out on an estuary to see baby otters. How fun is that?
    Thanks so much for telling me I’m not the only one with car problems!
    Sandy

  2. Genna,
    Thanks for the feedback on the look of Moodle. The original theme is supposed to be better for mobile devices, but I found I couldn’t get used to it.:)
    Sandy

  3. Shelby,
    You are so nice to stop by!
    Yes, the videoitos are my little art form, so I both think ahead and create in the moment. Is long as I’m having fun, I’m learning.
    So good to hear from you!
    Sandy

  4. Victoria,
    As much as I can, I like to teach by example. I am super pleased that you picked up on that and took the time to tell me so. That makes me feel like I’m being useful.
    🙂
    Sandy

  5. Jamie,
    My favorite saying is, “you gotta be light to be the light of the world.” 🙂
    Also I like “courage is more important than talent” for getting through college.
    Thanks for hanging in there and fining a way to let those magical little moments in each day stand still.
    🙂
    Sandy

  6. Brandon,
    I am always excited when a student takes the time to say thank you for some small skill set I was able to give. Thank you so much for taking the time to say so. I really appreciate that!
    Sandy

  7. Miranda,
    Thank you! I must say it is really nice to hear a student comment on my real life instead of our class topic.
    I love the Wjite Rabbit and all things “down the rabbit hole.” So mysterious and fun.:)

  8. Sandy,
    I loved getting to watch your video and all the adventures you got to go on while you are visiting California. I have never heard of the town you visited before or the place you stayed in. It sounds amazing! The last scene from your video was beautiful with the sunset over the water. I wish I could have spent my Spring Break traveling and enjoying similar relaxing settings. I loved how the theme you were going with was from Alice in Wonderland with the white rabbit. I’m sorry that your trip was inconvenienced by transmission problems. Hope they were quickly resolved and you were able to return to your vacation quickly.

  9. Sandy,

    Carmel is amazing, I love the houses along the coastline! The aquarium is really neat too, but I haven’t been in about 15 years. Did you, by chance, go to Big Sir? It’s so pretty! Car trouble isn’t something I would wish upon anyone, but I do have to say that your car chose a great town to be stuck in! Is your vacation over now? I hope you had a great time. It is always so nice to get away for a while and see new things.
    -Amanda

  10. Sandy,

    I also enjoy watching the videos you make. You definitely go the extra mile to involve your students and make things interesting when that can be difficult to accomplish through distance learning. I use the advice you gave about hotlinking all my names and references in my second post. This made the post a lot more enjoyable to write because now if someone does not know who or what I am talking about in my post they can just clock on the name to learn more. Anyway I hope the rest of your vocation is as fun as your past updates and your car is fine. Thanks for your post.

    Brandon

  11. Hi Sandy, I really enjoyed watching your video. I also like you backwards clock, so often I feel like time is against me. I’m sorry to hear about your car problems and how the car doc was not open for business but it looks like you got stranded in the perfect place. I’ve never been there but your video makes it look very inviting. Your blogs are always fun and light which leads me to believe that I can do this too.

  12. Hi Sandy,

    I am jealous, yet so happy for you that you got to spend some time at the Monterey Aquarium. This post was extremely helpful. I learn every time I watch your videos, I learned about hyperlinking your references, and reminding me to use bullet points. Hope everything goes well with your car and you don’t have any more trouble on your vacation.

    Victoria

  13. Hi Sandy! I love these little videos you make. I feel like I’m hearing you tell me a story, yet there are no words being spoken! They flow so well and are beautifully constructed. Do you look at what you’ve filmed for the day and make them or do you see something and know you’ll want to integrate it into your video for the day and capture it there and then? Thanks for sharing! Hope your Subie-baby makes it out okay, they really do become a member of the family from what I hear!

  14. Hey Sandy
    I have been itching to get to Monterey, Carmel and Big Sur recently. My aunt lives in Monterey and we have been a lot throughout my life. I think it’s my favorite city ever! Poor Jensens getting stuck in Carmel…haha just kidding! It’s a great place to be stranded! I’ve also been to the White Rabbit and love it. I’m pretty sure my aunt has that very clock. She always takes us there when we visit Carmel. Also- I have to say it is much easier to navigate on Moodle now that you changed the layout, thank you.
    Genna

  15. Hello Sandy, I really liked your video showing the update on your trip. I especially liked the way you integrated the “Kablam graphic” to demonstrate the shock of an unexpected car break down. The video conveyed the tragedy of being stuck in the middle of your trip and having to readjust your plans for a while along with the emotional heartbreak of having your car being sick and needing to go to the hospital. My husband and I just got our car back from the mechanic and after being stuck without it for the last two months are beside ourselves with joy to have the luxury of driving everywhere again! It’s the little things you take for granted until something catastrophic happens and makes you appreciate the wonderfulness of engineering that runs when you need it too. Since you wound up with some unexpected time in Carmel, what would you recommend to someone who had never been there to do, or to see? -Rebecca P.S. Hoping everything turns out well with your car!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *