Epic Road Trip 2016

Other Ways of Being in This World: A Day at the Monterey Bay Aquarium

Our crazy so-called vacation in now over a week longer than we had planned, but really, it’ could be worse! I can sit in my hotel room morning and night and check in with my students. During the day, I receive texts from them wherever I am. I received one from Victoria while at the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and that was really fun.

I took a lot of video with my cell phone when I wasn’t talking to students, and this morning I decided to put it together into a short digital story.

I am always amazed at all the ways different life forms have adapted to the multitude of environmental niches on this planet, and I love the way many of these are showcased by the scientists and curators at the Aquarium.

“If there is magic in this world, it is contained in water.”

–Loren Eiseley

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One comment

  1. Sandy,

    Wow! Your iphone filmed that? I wouldn’t have even known if you hadn’t mentioned it. What a calming and peaceful video, thank you for sharing that with the class. I love that part of California, and I have been to that aquarium. It’s a great place to go!
    -Amanda

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *